About Us

We are a community based non-profit organization. We provide an array of services to people with all disabilities and assist them to set their own goals and discover their personal power.

We are one of over 400 Centers for Independent Living in the United States. Centers for Independent Living (CIL) are non-residential, consumer-controlled, community-based, and cross-disability organizations. As such, the majority of our Board of Directors and staff are people with disabilities.  We embrace the Independent Living philosophy and believe that people with disabilities have the right to control and direct their own lives.

Who We Serve

We offer support and services to people with disabilities located within Anne Arundel and Howard counties in Maryland. Our Consumers are people of all ages with all types of disabilities.

What is the Independent Living Philosophy?

The Independent Living philosophy stresses Consumer control – the idea that people with disabilities are the best authorities on their own needs. They have crucial and valuable viewpoints to contribute and are worthy of equal access to services and programs.

People with disabilities should have the opportunity to decide how to live, work and take part in their communities, particularly in reference to services that affect their day-to-day lives and their access to independence.

Nothing about us without us.

James Charlton

History and Organization

Our History

Accessible Resources for Independence was incorporated in 2009 with the mission of supporting people with disabilities to obtain independence and equal community access. The volunteers that founded ARI began to build upon that mission by finding ways to provide donated medical equipment, build wheelchair ramps, and be a clearinghouse for disability related information. In 2010, ARI was awarded the contract as the Center for Independent Living for Anne Arundel and Howard Counties in Maryland and as such were able to hire our first paid staff. Since that time, we have grown the variety of programming available to maximize the independence of people with disabilities.

Staff

Our staff is a diverse group of people committed to working to meet the mission of ARI. If you are interested in working at ARI, visit our Employment page.

Katie Collins-Ihrke, MBA, MS
Executive Director
kihrke@arinow.org

Leo Biscaia
Youth Transition Specialist
lbiscaia@arinow.org

Troy Fitzgerald
Nursing Facility Transition Specialist
tfitzgerald@arinow.org

Nicole Griffith
Office Manager
ngriffith@arinow.org

Misty Harding
Independent Living Specialist
mharding@arinow.org

Betsy Hein
Assistive Technology Program Manager
bhein@arinow.org

Angela Jacob
Independent Living Specialist
ajacob@arinow.org

Kelly Kryspin
Home and Community Based Services Program Manager
kkryspin@arinow.org

Joan Rumenap
Special Projects Manager
jrumenap@arinow.org

Audrey Sellers
Independent Living Program Manager
asellers@arinow.org

 
 

Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is made up of individual volunteers from Anne Arundel and Howard Counties, and more than half of our Board members are persons with disabilities.

The Board of Directors of ARI provides strategic direction for the organization and supervises the Executive Director.

If you are interested in nominating someone for our Board of Directors, please fill out the Board of Directors nomination form or contact us for more information about the Board.

Richard Scordo, Chair
Ginger Palmer, Vice Chair
Kimberly Riddle, Treasurer
Christa Bucks Camacho, Secretary
Gregory P. Care
Cathy Raggio
Ann Scholz
Jeffrey Silverman
Jane Sinclair
Marian Vessels
Edward Willard, Jr.